Mayor-Elect Johnson Forms Transition Committee and Subcommittees

Johnson appoints leaders from business, activism, and government to transition policy teams

CHICAGO – Mayor-elect Brandon Johnson on Thursday announced the formation of the Chicago for the People Transition Committee and 11 Subcommittees. The Transition Committee and Subcommittees will be guided by leaders from Chicago’s business, activist, and government communities. Their work will culminate in a written report issued in the coming weeks to shape and guide the work of the new administration.

“I’ve long said that in order to build a better, stronger, safer Chicago, we need everyone who can help at the table, and that’s what’s reflected in these appointments,” said Mayor-elect Brandon Johnson. “This group of extraordinary leaders reflects the diversity and vibrancy of our city and will help lay the foundation for the work of our administration. I look forward to hearing from our transition committee and subcommittee chairs as we establish our policy priorities for the next four years and beyond.”

Transition Committee Members:

  • Kennedy Bartley, People’s Unity Platform
  • Jitu Brown, Journey For Justice Alliance
  • Martin Cabrera, Cabrera Capital Markets
  • Jim Connolly, Chicago Laborers’ District Council
  • Brendan Deenihan, Former Chief of Detectives
  • Juan González, Great Cities Institute
  • Rev. Dr. Marshall Hatch, Sr., New Mount Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church
  • Michelle Morales, Woods Fund Chicago
  • Dian Palmer, SEIU Local 73
  • Richard S. Price, Executive Chairman of Mesirow
  • Delia Ramirez, U.S. Representative of Illinois’s 3rd District
  • Dr. Barbara Ransby, John D. MacArthur University Chair and LAS Distinguished Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Charles Smith, CS Insurance Strategies
  • Margaret Stender, Minority Owner and Founding CEO of The Chicago Sky
  • Emma Tai, United Working Families

Economic Vitality & Equity Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Michael Fassnacht
  • Lynette McRae
  • Anton Seals

Immigration Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • State Representative Lillian Jimenez
  • Genie Kastrup
  • Andrea Ortiz

Workers Rights and Labor Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Shabatayah Andrich
  • Reverend CJ Hawking        
  • Sophia Zaman

Public Safety Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Dr. Kathryn Bocanegra        
  • Robert Boik        
  • State Senator Robert Peters
  • Tanya Watkins

Housing Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Julie Dworkin        
  • Jonathan Jones
  • Sendy Soto

Education Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Jackson Potter        
  • Jesse Ruiz        
  • Jay Travis        

Human Rights, Equity, & Inclusion Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Candace Coleman
  • Kim Hunt        
  • Cook County Commissioner Anthony Quezada        

Environmental Justice Subcommittee Co-Chairs:        

  • Juliana Pino
  • Colleen Smith
  • Jung Yoon        

Arts & Culture Committee Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Leslé Honoré        
  • Abby Pucker        
  • Monica Trinidad        

Transportation Committee Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • State Representative Kam Buckner        
  • Kirk Dillard
  • Roberto Requejo        

Health & Human Services Subcommittee Co-Chairs:

  • Sean Garrett
  • Linda Rae Murray, MD        
  • Alderman Rossana Rodriguez-Sanchez

“I’m honored to serve as a Transition Committee co-chair for Mayor-elect Johnson and look forward to helping build our agenda for Chicago that prioritizes social and economic justice,” said Dr. Barbara Ransby. “I’ve spent much of my adult life fighting for a fairer, safer, stronger Chicago, and I see in this moment an extraordinary opportunity to help realize a vision many of us have been fighting for across decades. I will do everything in my power to seize that moment to deliver as much as possible for people across Chicago, especially those who have been historically marginalized and ignored.”

“I was with Mayor-elect Johnson from the very beginning because he and I share many of the same priorities, including policies to support working families and new Americans, advancing affordable housing in every community, and ensuring our children have access to fully-funded neighborhood schools,” said U.S. Representative Delia Ramirez. “I look forward to helping usher in a new day in Chicago, and work with the Mayor-elect alongside these extraordinary leaders to shape the new administration.”

“I’m proud to serve in the role of Transition Committee co-chair for Mayor-elect Johnson and look forward to working together to create a better economic future for all Chicagoans,” said Charles Smith. “Together, we can ensure that minority and women-owned businesses have the resources they need to succeed and provide economic opportunity in every community.”