Mayor-Elect Johnson Releases Inauguration Ceremony Information

Mayor-elect Johnson announces details for May 15 mayoral inauguration ceremony, with Inaugural Event Series to be announced.

CHICAGO – Mayor-elect Brandon Johnson announced information for the City of Chicago’s inauguration ceremony on Monday, May 15, where he will be sworn in as the 57th Mayor of Chicago, alongside City of Chicago legislators and other executive officers. The ceremony will cap off a full schedule of events taking place over the weekend. 

The announcement also includes an Inaugural Committee. 

“This was always a movement of, by, and for the people, and that’s the spirit we’re going to bring to Inauguration Day,” said Mayor-elect Brandon Johnson. “I want every single Chicagoan to feel that together, we’re writing a new chapter for our city, because we are. The goal of this inauguration is to be as collaborative and inclusive as possible, because that will be the goal of our government in City Hall.” 

“We look forward to celebrating this historic victory with the people of Chicago during our inaugural event series,” said Alex Sims-Jones, Director of the Inaugural Event Series. “Our event series reflects the diversity of Chicago and the many vibrant cultures that call this city home. This symbolizes the crucial moment we’re in, and uniting people from every neighborhood and every community.” 

Inauguration Ceremony 

Time: 10:30 a.m.

Location: Credit Union 1 Arena (UIC Pavilion), 525 S. Racine Ave, Chicago, IL 60607

Additional information on public tickets will be available on the website Monday, May 8.

City Hall Open House

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: 121 N Lasalle St, 5th floor, Chicago, IL 60602

This event is open to the public; more details will be posted on the website on Monday May 8. 

Full list of Inaugural Committee members: 

Teresa Cordova 

Ryan Gordon

Reverend Jesse L. Jackson, Sr.

Linda Johnson-Rice 

Beverly Kim 

State Senator Rob Martwick

Cook County Commissioner Josina Morita 

Gigi Pritzker

John Rogers 

Jim Reynolds, Jr.

Tariq Saddiqui 

Andrea Saenz

Alderperson Byron Sigcho-Lopez